Fictional Boyfriends

Standard

How do I even begin this post? I’m about to confess a secret that I’ve kept for as long as I can remember. 

I am convinced that I am not alone in this, but it still feels like I’m revealing this huge thing. Okay, here we go. Okay, we can do this… I am no longer in denial. Here it is: when I read a good book and the main boy character totally makes me swoon, I sort of develop a serious crush on him. Like I said, I am absolutely convinced that I am not alone in this affection for fictional characters. So I’ve decided to compile a list of my favorites so that those who are still too afraid to admit to their love can join in on mine. 

 

Number-one-most-amazing-all-time-favorite-fictional boyfriend: Wes Baker – Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever

Now, my supercrush on Wes mayyy have something to do with the fact that this is one of my all-time-favorite books… ever. I am absolutely in love with Wes Baker (sorry, fiance!) I even want to name one of my children Weston… partially so I can call him Wes. Okay, that’s not entirely true, I just love the name Weston. But honestly, what’s not to like about him?? He’s sarcastic and witty, he takes care of his younger brother (cute!) and he’s absolutely gorgeous! I seriously can’t find anything wrong with Wes. Nothing.  I like how he and Macy started off as co-workers, then became friends, and then (finally) fell in love! “sa-woon!” So if I had to pick one (just one?) fictional boyfriend to be with for all of literary eternity, then I would SO pick Wes Baker.

 

#2: Augustus Waters – John Green’s The Fault in our Stars

This may be partially due to the fact that I just finished this book (still trying to come to terms with it all!!!) and the fact that I’ve always gone for the sarcastic goofy guys. And really, the most attractive thing about Augustus Waters… is his vocabulary. I love a guy who can string together a bunch of words and make them sound nothing short of beautiful. I mean let’s be honest here – right off the bat we know Gus is someone we will fall in literary love with. There’s something so genuine and caring about Gus that I just can’t get past. I just love his friendship with Isaac and how they turn their bad situations into jokes and keep each other on their toes. Hazel and Gus – don’t even get me started… I love everything about their relationship… except the cancer of course. I know this is a fatal flaw of a writer, but I just can’t even form words to describe how I feel about these two. Gus goes out of his way for Hazel, to make her feel like “enough” and to show her how much he cares about her. He’s just really really great. “Okay? Okay.”

 

#3 Sutter Keely – Tim Tharp’s The Spectacular Now

I don’t know if it’s his constant drunkenness, or the fact that he’s portrayed in a movie by my favorite goofy hottie, Miles Teller, but there’s something about Sutter Keely that I’m head over heels in literary love with. He is in his own little world half the time and doesn’t realize what a hot mess he is. I like that even though the story is told from his POV, the reader can still see how completely messed up Sutter is. I feel like he always has the best intentions, even when he doesn’t. He starts hanging out with sweet, innocent Aimee to pass the time. He doesn’t mean to fall in love, but he does. He’s so off kilter and strange that it makes you want to understand more about him. Sutter Keely makes really awful situations into jokes and even though that doesn’t make them better, or even okay, it makes them bearable. Neglect and abuse are masked as independence and love. Seeing it through Sutter’s eyes gives the reader the opportunity to accept things for what they are. He is the life of the party. He makes you happy and he makes you want to dance and just HAVE FUN. This story, and Sutter Keely himself are just so heartbreakingly beautiful… and absolutely real. 

#4 Jase Garrett – Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life, Next Door

He’s just SO SWEET. I seriously want a Jase Garrett of my own. Can I just have one? He is so great with his little brother, George and just makes you swoon. Really, it does. First of all, he’s super handsome, which is always a plus. He likes to fix things! He’s always working on a car or a lawn mower, or something that isn’t even really broken but could probably be better. He is such a family guy – the Garretts are a huge family and he takes such great care of his younger (and some older) siblings. He’s seriously “the nicest guy on the planet” and I want one of my own! I love that Sam becomes his number one. His family completely accepts her and loves her as their own simply because Jase loves her. If she’s good enough for him, she’s good enough for his family. Simple, sweet, and very very lovable. Yea, I definitely need a Jase Garrett. 

 

 

Since I am always always reading, I’m absolutely positive that this list will grow. 

 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think...

